Skip to main content

About conference

The European Winter Conference on Plasma Spectrochemistry (EWCPS) is a series of conferences on Plasma Spectrochemistry. The objective of the conference is to bring together plasma spectrochemists from all over the world in one European location to stimulate contacts and exchange knowledge and experiences. Plasma spectrochemistry involves analytical methods such as ICP-MS, GD-MS, ICP-AES, DCP-AES, MIP-AES, LIBS or LAMIS.
The conference is held every two years (started from 1985 – see history) and alternating biannually with the US based Winter Conference on Plasma Spectrochemistry organized by Ramon Barnes. In 2005, the first Asian Pacific Winter Plasma Conference was organized in Chiangmai, Thailand. The series of the Nordic Conference on Plasma Spectrochemistry was started in 2002 and is held every two years in Loen, organized by Yngvar Thomassen.
The EWCPS committee is composed of the chairperson of the current EWCPS, the 5 chairpersons of the previous conferences and two student members nominated by the current chair:
  • Björn Meermann
    BAM, Berlin DE (Chair)
  • Vid Simon Šelih/ Martin Šala
    National Instutute of Chemistry, Ljubljana SI
  • Ryszard Lobinski
    CNRS, Pau FR
  • Thomas Prohaska / Johanna Irrgeher
    Montanuniversität Leoben, Leoben AT
  • Uwe Karst
    Universität Münster, Münster DE
  • Joanna Szpunar
    CNRS, Pau FR


Montan University Leoben
Chair of General and Analytical Chemistry


Thomas Prohaska
Franz-Josef-Straße 18
8700 Leoben